Citizens of some non-EU countries are required to obtain a visa to travel to the Schengen area. A short-stay visa issued by one of the member states of the Schengen area entitles the holder to travel throughout the whole Schengen area for up to three months within a six-month period. However, visas for visits exceeding that three-month period remain subject to national procedures.

List of Schengen countries:

1. EU. Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden.
2. Non-EU. Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Switzerland.

The Schengen agreement provides for a common external border and common Visas policies for short stays valid for all Schengen countries.

Schengen map: